Week In Review | September 28 – October 4, 2015

It’s really truly fall here in the midwest and it sure does feel like it!  I am so enjoying the cooler weather, turning leaves, and fall treats that are in abundance this time of year.  I’d like to share some tidbits from my life last week as well as an accompanying photo recap with selections from my Instagram with you.

week in review pumpkin everything 10-06-2015

Speaking of fall treats, pumpkin is everywhere right now and I’m absolutely loving it!  I found the most delicious pumpkin ice cream sandwiches at Whole Foods the other day and I’m still enjoying the 3 Ingredient Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins I shared about last week.  They’re super delicious with a steaming cup of tea!  For whatever reason I haven’t been interested in tea since I’ve been pregnant, but I find myself gradually wanting it again, which is nice.  Even though I haven’t wanted to drink tea, I’ve missed my tea rituals.

week in review fall goodies 10-06-2015

Please be advised that some of the links provided are affiliate links and I do receive a small commission if you make a purchase using those links.  This does not cost you any extra when you make a purchase.  I very much appreciate your support of this blog in doing so!

I’m also enjoying some new fall goodies I’ve picked up recently, including a gorgeous Plaid Tartan Blanket Scarf I found on Etsy.  I’ve wanted to try out the blanket scarf trend for awhile, and am excited to put this beauty to good use once the weather turns a hair cooler.  It’s so soft and warm!  And too cute to boot, of course.  I’ve also been enjoying the scrumptious smelling soap that came in the Fall Fortune Cookie Soap Box.  I love how sparkly it is!  It’s the little things. 🙂

week in review winnie 10-06-2015

Early fall is one of my favorite times for long walks with my pup, Winnie.  The air is crisp without feeling frigid and it’s still pretty green outside.  Also, the leaves are just starting to turn, which means there aren’t so many on the ground yet.  Winnie’s long hair is a magnet for anything loose and light, and she pretty much turns into a walking leaf pile later in the fall.  I don’t mind picking the leaves out of her hair, but it’s nice to enjoy the season without the mess while we can.  We walk for longer incremements this time of year when the weather is mild and she is thoroughly pooped by the time we get home!

week in review food 10-06-2015

We’re enjoying heartier fare with the cooler weather, as well.  I am so spoiled by my husband’s amazing cooking skills!  He made smoked pulled pork for me the weekend before last and then smoked a brisket this past weekend to make chili.  He even baked cornbread to go with it!  He also surprised me with a lobster tail dinner the other night.  I can’t tell you how yummy his food is!  I thank my lucky stars with every bite.

week in review pregnancy 10-06-2015

The fall season also reflects a shift in my pregnancy journey, as I enter the third trimester.  It’s hard to believe there’s only one week left until I’m officially in the home stretch!  As you can see, I’m definitely growing.  Don and I started a new daily tradition of reading outloud to Baby Girl every evening.  Don settles in close to my belly so she has a better chance of hearing him.  We have such a nice (and growing!) collection of children’s books already and it’s wonderful to be able to share them with our baby now.  I can’t wait until we can read with her in our arms!

week in review thankful 10-06-2015Image on left from Paper Source catalogue

I am so thankful for the beauty of fall, especially this year with all of the changes happening.  It brings a whole new meaning to the shifting of the seasons.  I can’t wait to be able to share some of my favorite fall things with our daughter next year!

I decided to try something a bit different this year and am snap-vlogging every day for the month of October over on my Snapchat.  It’s a way for me to vlog in a super casual way daily for a change of pace.  You can follow me there at prettyneatlivng if you’d like to see live posts.  I’m also compiling that footage into a weekly vlog in case you’re not on Snapchat.  Here’s my first weekly compilation:

I hope you enjoyed this peek at my week!  
I’d love to know what some of your favorite things about fall are if you care to share.
Happy Fall!

PNL_Signature

 * Post contains affiliate and referral links.  This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

23 comments

23 thoughts on “Week In Review | September 28 – October 4, 2015”

  1. Pumpkin ice cream sandwiches ?! Sounds absolutely delicious ! I’m also from the Midwest and one of my favorite things about fall would have to be going to our local apple/pumpkin farm and buying an apple pie in a bag. You literally bake it in the bag and it’s so yummy !

    Take care ! Xo

  2. I liked it Jen, it’s good to switch things up. I’ll have to follow you on snapchat as well. You’re the only person I follow anywhere and it’s been two years now, my husband always teases me when he hears your voice coming out of my phone or iPad, he just brought me lunch and laughed.😄 I’m glad you are feeling better, and hope you have a wonderful, fulfilling week and tell Don to enjoy The Presidents Cup, I’m confident we’ll win 😉

  3. Such a special family bounding time sitting and reading together, reading in the evening was always such an enjoyable thing with my children, they loved it and so did I. I did it before they were born and they always stayed still in my tummy when ever I read a story. It was a very different story when I sang during the day and hit a sad note or two, the stillness turned into belling rolling, I think baby was saying “mummy, keep that racket down” loll. It doesn’t matter how old I get I LOVE being read to, there’s just something about listening to someone read that makes me feel so contented, my imagination feels free to rome when I close my eyes and listion to every little detail. Books and reading are very special gifts for all ages in my opinion, start a routine before baby comes and it will continue when baby arrives.
    That’s Something To Be Thankful For …
    Take Care Hugs Margaret xxxx

  4. As for children’s books, I highly recommend “Ten in a bed”. The boys loved me to read that story & they would act it out.
    : )

  5. Love it!!!! I have become addicted to your site!! Can’t seem to get my day started at work until I see what’s on your site!

    Thanks!

  6. I’m not sure how I was able to watch this video at work with all the filters but so glad I could. What an enjoyable way to spend my lunch. Love the snap vlog! I need to find you on snapchat so I can see them daily. I also received the Fortune Cookie Soap Box, loved the scents this time. Not the I disliked the others.
    Thanks for sharing!

  7. Jen, You are precious!!! Wanted to wish you a happy and healthy third trimester. Thanks for all that you do. You make our day so much brighter with your blog and sharing your fun treasures. Have a great day!!!! Robyn

  8. “Broccoli” – I really laughed.

    This is cute, but I think it’s really restricting the time you have to talk. I don’t have snapchat, so the longer video is all I’ll see. Definitely fun for a month if you keep the longer video, too!

    Your bump is adorable, Jen. Glad you’re feeling better.

  9. Book recommendation for your Baby Girl if you don’t already have it … It was my favorite growing up and I still have my original copy!

    Laura Charlotte
    by Kathryn O. Galbraith

  10. Thanks for putting your snapchat videos together for a weekly video! I don’t have snapchat and would be sad if not to see any vlog style videos from you in the month of October.

    I do prefer longer segments (I really like your longer vlogs and having you talk more to us), but if it’s no vlogs or snapchat vlogs, I’ll take the short snapchat ones 🙂 Plus you’re right it’s fun to try out something new and different!

    Anyway thank you so much for taking the time to put the snapchat clips together into a video for us 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up