Week In Review | October 19 – October 25, 2015

A so-so start to the week ended with an awesome long weekend in St. Louis visiting my family.  I’d like to share some tidbits from my life last week as well as an accompanying photo recap with selections from my Instagram with you.

week in review sick 10-27-2015

I woke up Monday morning with a sore throat, which usually means I’m coming down with something.  This made sense after how tired I had felt all weekend.  I must have been fighting something.  Fortunately, it didn’t turn into a nasty bug but just a mild cold.  Nothing that a little hot water with lemon and honey and Don’s homemade chicken soup can’t cure!  Don also felt a bit under the weather, but never really got a cold, which meant he fought the bug off effectively.  Thank goodness for that!  I certainly don’t like being sick, but I really don’t like it when my loved ones don’t feel well.

week in review fall weather 10-27-2015

I’m so grateful I felt well enough to continue enjoying the absolutely glorious fall weather we’ve had this October.  I so enjoy and look forward to my twice daily walks with my pup, Winnie.  We took a stroll in Evanston by the lake earlier in the week during the most beautiful sunset.  On Sunday evening after a long drive home from St. Louis I let her romp around the park while I admired the almost full moon bright and shining at dusk.  I can’t get enough of this kind of beauty!

week in review nursery 10-27-2015

I also am very much enjoying working on Baby Girl’s nursery with more progress to show this week.  We had the walls painted in Benjamin Moore’s Lambskin, which is actually a bit less pink in person than in the photo above and more of a soft almond color.  It changes slightly throughout the day depending on the light, but maintains the warm glow I was aiming for.  I love how cozy it makes the room feel!  I also ordered some rug and window treatment swtaches from RH Baby & Child and hope to narrow down those choices this week.  We still have to wait quite awhile for the furniture to be delivered, but I think the room is coming together nicely so far.

week in review st louis dogs 10-27-2015

I’m happy Don and I felt well enough to keep our plans to drive down to St. Louis for a long weekend spent with my brother and his family.  Winnie and her cousin Oscar, my brother’s pug, were reuinted with Gertie and Mercedes, my sister-in-law’s brother’s dogs, who were also in town visiting with their humans.  My parents drove down as well to fill out this mini family reunion.

week in review school visit 10-27-2015

The main purpose of our trip, aside from wanting to spend time with the family of course, was to attend our nieces’ open house day at school, which is something we’ve done before and enjoyed immensely.  It was so interesting and fun to spend time with the girls at school.  Jaidyn (on the left) is in 4th grade and Emma (right) is in 6th grade now.  They’re both extremely smart, funny, and beautiful girls that we treasure!  It was great to be able to interact with them in their school setting.

week in review fall fun 10-27-2015

The rest of the weekend was spent relaxing with the family and enjoying creature comforts like playing in the leaves outside and eating hot-off-the-press Krispy Kreme donuts.  I just love how comfortable and at home I feel around my loved ones.  We ate tasty food, played with the girls outside, watched A League of Their Own, and talked and laughed together.  It was such a relaxing, fun weekend!

I decided to try something a bit different this year and am snap-vlogging every day for the month of October over on my Snapchat.  It’s a way for me to vlog in a super casual way daily for a change of pace.  You can follow me there at prettyneatlivng if you’d like to see live posts.  I’m also compiling that footage into a weekly vlog in case you’re not on Snapchat.  Here’s my fourth weekly compilation:

I hope you enjoyed this peek at my week!
I’d love to know what made your week special if you care to share.
Happy (almost) Halloween 😀

PNL_Signature

* This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

10 comments

10 thoughts on “Week In Review | October 19 – October 25, 2015”

  1. I have a silly thing I’d like your opinion on. 🙂 I think you are a role model of a dog owner. I’m trying to be better and have been reading lots of dog info. I have an older dog that pulls on walks–which I think is because he is so thrilled to be outside and smelling (!) but have read that this is not good for my dog’s pack instincts. He should walk behind me, etc. I noticed Winnie doesn’t do this and was wondering your thoughts on this? (totally not judging, would love to hear that you think she should enjoy life and smell all the things, haha)

    1. I think you have to decide for yourself what you’re comfortable with when it comes to how your dog behaves on a leash. Winnie walks in front of me when she is excited and behind me when she’s just trotting along and that’s fine by me so long as she doesn’t do anything erratic.

  2. That is so awesome that you went to school with your nieces! Looks like a fun time! The soup looks really good…hope you are feeling better!

  3. Hey Jen! I love your vlogs but I’m looking forward to you going back to your regular style of vlogging in November. It’s fun to try something new but I think 10 second intervals feels too choppy/cut short for your personality 😉 Hope you have a great Halloween weekend!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up