Week In Review | November 9 – November 15, 2015

It is difficult for me to post about what started out as a pretty ordinary and happy week for me that ended with both something terrible and something wonderful.  Ultimately, however, I feel that it is important to continue sharing about life’s joys even in times of sorrow.  With that being said, I’d like to share some tidbits from my life last week as well as an accompanying photo recap with selections from my Instagram with you.

week in review winter prep 11-17-2015

I like to stock up on firewood in mid-November every year in preparation for chilly winter nights spent cozy and warm snuggled in front of the fire with my family.  This is typically also when I start gearing up for Thanksgiving, the holiday season opener.  I’ve already got my to-do list and schedule helper planned out in anticipation of another full house this year.  I’ve been so excited for the holidays and they’re almost here!

week in review food 11-17-2015

While the temperature drops outside, our food choices heat up.  My husband, Don, was under the weather last week with a cold, so we took advantage of our backup stock in the freezer of his delectable homemade comfort foods like chicken soup and chili.  A warm bowl of something when you’re sick is sometimes the best medicine!  While Don is primarily a coffee drinker, we enjoyed sharing mid-morning cups of tea with honey to help soothe his throat.  I’m happy to report he is all better now!

week in review decor 11-17-2015

I’m beginning to transform my home in anticipation of the holidays, starting with the video background in my home office, which is now fully decked out in Christmas wrap and cheery snowmen for my annual Holiday Gift Guide series.  The first post, Little Luxuries, went up just this past weekend and I’ll share two more guides, including Extravagant Splurges and Stocker Stuffers, over the course of the next two weeks.  I also took advantage of the nice weather on Sunday to put up the outdoor holiday lights in front of our house, although I won’t plug them in until Thanksgiving, which is our tradition.  It was nice to be able to work outside in a t-shirt in mid-November, though!

week in review mom outing 11-17-2015

On Friday my Mom took me out for a special Mom & Daughter outing.  We went to one of my favorite local places, Abigails, for lunch.  The food is always so scrumptious there!  Afterwards, she treated me to a manicure, my first professional one in several years, at Red Door Spa.  What an absolute treat!  I haven’t had anyone pay so much attention to my cuticles in a very long time.  We had some time between lunch and my manicure so we did a bit of window shopping at all of the cute children’s clothing boutiques at the mall.  It was a wonderful outing and I had such a good time with my Mom.  I can only hope my daugher and I share such a close friendship when she’s all grown up like I do with my Mom.

I vlogged bits of our day together if you’d like to see more:

week in review baby shower 11-17-2015

My sister-in-law, Emily, and mother-in-law, Suzanne, threw a beautiful tea party themed baby shower for me on Saturday at Suzanne’s house.  It was absolutely lovely and a true light during a dark time.  They put so much thought and effort into every last detail, from the decor and food to the games and party favors.  I hired a photographer to document the event and will be sharing a more in-depth look at the shower in the next couple of weeks if you’re interested in seeing more.  For now, I will just say that I couldn’t have dreamed of a more lovely celebration and I feel very blessed to be surrounded by so many supportive and loving women as I welcome our little lady into the world.

week in review peace for paris 11-17-2015 Art by Jean Jullien

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, it is difficult for me to find the proper words to express how I feel about the terrible events and tragedy that occurred in Paris last Friday.  It is both deeply saddening and extremely unsettling that so many lives were lost.  My thoughts and prayers are with all who have been affected both directly and indirectly by these events.

Even in the darkest of times there is always light as people come together in kindness and compassion to share love.  My wish for everyone is to share in this hope and know that love is always there.

Take good care ❤︎

PNL_Signature

* This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

13 comments

13 thoughts on “Week In Review | November 9 – November 15, 2015”

  1. My mother is approaching her mid 80’s (I’m the youngest of 5 with 8 to 16 yrs age difference from my siblings), none of us are close unfortunately mainly because of age difference. I don’t have the mother my siblings were able to enjoy as you do with yours. They had a very similar relationship with her as you do.

  2. Cont’d…However, I do take her out to lunch and never show up empty handed when I visit. She loves the gifts I bring her at the beginning of each season. Halloween candy, pumpkins, mums. In Thanksgiving flower arrangements and seasonal coffees and teas. Then Christmas poinsettias, seasonal sweets….and so on. I guess that’s life. She did this to my siblings. I missed on that. Feeling special and loved.

  3. Thank you Jennifer for your words. I’m a french follower, living at 5 Hours from Paris but I easely think what happen at the capital, it can happen at my door or every where. Thanks a lot for your prayers. Anyway can’t wait to see your little baby ! Love and happy thanksgiving.

  4. I like seeing your outings with your mom. I am blessed to get to take my mom out every week for lunch and shopping. She turned 80 this year. I look forward to hearing about the mommy daughter outings you and your daughter will have. It is nice to see families that are close. Your ending talk about Paris was very nice.

  5. Hi, I feel the same way you do about the tragic attacks in Paris. On a brighter note; that baby shower looks to have been adorable ☺Take care

  6. Dear Sweet Jen,
    The most amazing day of your life is fast approaching, and how lovely to have it be preceded by such a beautiful and thoughtful shower!🤗 What I wouldn’t give to have one more special day with my beloved mother. Can’t wait to see a portrait of the 3 generations of girls!😉 Blessings & joy to you and Don.
    Gods grace on the people of France…🇫🇷

  7. Dear Jen,
    I am a mum of 2 (girl age 11 and boy age 8) from England who has watched you for many years, I work from home which can be a little isolating so your videos keep me entertained whilst I work! The kindness and thoughtful sharing you provide is much appreciated and your positive outlook motivates me to do better! Your pregnancy excitement has brought back many happy memories for me so thank you. Rest assured you and Don will make wonderful parents. x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up