Week In Review | June 15 – June 21, 2015

Summer is officially here and with it comes sunny, humid days dotted by fierce storms.  We marked the transition of the seasons with a special weekend of celebrations with family.  I’d like to share some tidbits from my life last week as well as an accompanying photo recap with selections from my Instagram feed with you.

week-in-review-everyday-06-23-2015

It’s heating up quickly in the Chicagoland area.  Do you find that your appetite and food preferences change with the weather?  I am certainly seasonal when it comes to food picks.  I’ve recently replaced my morning cup of hot tea with a glass of orange juice.  I’ve also started incorporating chilled watermelon into my breakfast.  I’ve recently started walking Winnie first thing when the sun is still not fully up making it the coolest time of day (you can see in the photo above that one of those fierce summer storms caught us by surprise during one of our morning constitutionals last week).  It’s still warm, however, and I come in ready for something refreshing for breakfast.  I’ve also noticed I’m inclined to get my tea fix in the afternoons by brewing up iced tea.  There’s nothing quite as refreshing as a cold glass of iced tea on a muggy summer afternoon in my opinion!

week-in-review-summer-weather-06-23-2015

Aside from seasonal changes both outdoors and in, it’s business as usual for me during the week as I work on maintaining a steady stream of content.  My weeks have been as full as my weekends between all of our family related travel as I try to stay on top of things.  I have so much I want to share and not enough time in the day to prepare it all!  I’m also in the process of working through final edits of my new site, Pretty Neat Living.  You can read more about that here if you’d like.

week-in-review-PNL-announcement-06-23-2015

I’m still enjoying a great burst of renewed energy with creating my content, but it’s important for me to remember about balance especially at busy times like these.  I often find myself glued to the computer or in front of/behind the camera for the better part of the day and it’s only right before dinner that I realize how gloriously beautiful it is outside.  I’ve enjoyed spending a few moments at the end of the day sitting in the garden and just take it all in, weather permitting of course.  Even a couple of minutes of this focused time just being in nature without technology, to-do lists, or household chores is enough to make me feel grounded again.

week-in-review-anniversary-celebration-06-23-2015

Don and I enjoyed a celebratory weekend with family, starting with a fun night out on the town with my folks Saturday night.  My parents recently celebrated a milestone anniversary.  We’ve planned a trip with them and my brother’s family over the Fourth of July weekend as our official celebration, but Don and I wanted to do something at home for them as well.  We took them to Everest, a French restaurant in downtown Chicago.  An amazing meal paired with a fantastic view?  Sign me up!  Afterwards we walked down to the Auditorium Theatre to see the Royal Ballet perform Don Quixote.  What a special treat to have this talented company of dancers in our own Chicago!  The lingering standing ovation at the end summed up the performance perfectly.  It was incredible!  If you’re a ballet fan and you ever have the chance to see The Royal Ballet perform, snatch up those tickets quickly before they’re sold out!

week-in-review-fathers-day-06-23-2015

On Sunday we celebrated Father’s Day with both sides of the family.  I can’t tell you how happy it makes my heart to know and see how well our families get along.  My mother-in-law and I collaborated on the meal.  I catered so she could host in their new home.  My in-laws only moved a week ago, but Suzanne was excited to invite the families over so they could all see the new place!  We kept it low key with bagels and lox and quiches and Suzanne made her amazing 7-layer dip (perhaps a future cook nook?).  It was a relaxed and fun afternoon spent together celebrating the amazing men in our lives.

I vlogged over the weekend if you’re interested in seeing more:

I feel so blessed to have such good friends in my family.  It’s always a special treat when we get to celebrate with each other!  I’d love to hear about how you spent Father’s Day if you care to share.
Happy Summer!

PNL_Signature

* This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

1 comment

One thought on “Week In Review | June 15 – June 21, 2015”

  1. I love this new layout, it’s clean, classy and yet simple in the most elegant way. Very nice. I also love this weekly recap! I don’t have as much time as I used to to watch Youtube with my new position at work, but I do love to catch up and easily find the topics of interest on your site.
    Congrats to your whole family!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up