Week In Review | November 30 – December 6, 2015

“It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…” This refrain has been running through my head all week long!  It certainly is beginning to look a lot like Christmas both in our home and outside everywhere we go.  I’d like to share some tidbits from my life last week as well as an accompanying photo recap with selections from my Instagram with you.

week in review winter weather 12-08-2015

We had a few winter weather days last week, which I personally enjoy this time of year (that’s a different story come March, though).  I was excited we got another dusting of snow, although that’s long gone now thanks to the much warmer temperatures over the past few days.  I find the snow-flocked trees absolutely breathtaking!  I love wandering in a winter wonderland with my pup and then heating up once inside with a warm cup of something tasty and a little treat.

week in review christmas prep 12-08-2015

Even though the snow has melted and it no longer looks wintry outside, it sure is cozy and festive in our house!  I decided to just decorate the family room this year since Baby Girl is due soon after the holiday season and could possibly make an early appearance during it.  We spend our evenings as a family together in this room, which is why I decided to put up and trim our woodland-themed tree.  It’s so nice to sit together in the evenings with a fire going and watch holiday movies while the tree sparkles.

Our holiday cards that we ordered from Tiny Prints came in last week as well and I shared the first look at them on Instagram with you.  I just love how they turned out!  The photos are by local photographer Sri, who we also plan to do a newborn shoot with after Baby Girl arrives.  I can’t wait to see him work his magic with our little one!

week in review nursery update 12-08-2015

Speaking of Little One, I shared a peek at our nursery progress in last week’s pregnancy update.  We got the area rug, window treatments, and hardware from RH Baby & Child.  I also put up the starting structure in her closet, which is Elfa.  It’s such a wonderful, easily customizable system that I can tweak as needed to suit Baby’s needs.  Everything is pretty well set in place and ready for the furniture, which is scheduled for delivery this week.  I love how it’s come together so far and can’t wait to see it all filled out!

week in review holiday outing 12-08-2015

Don took the day off on Friday so we could go downtown for a special holiday outing together.  Our first stop was the Christkindl Market in Daley Plaza.  I always enjoy this delightful German-inspired outdoor holiday bazaar.  It’s so much fun to see all of the handmade holiday wares from Germany and other countries as well.  There also happens to be amazing food every year!  Our favorites are the potato pancakes and snowballs (fried dough balls sprinkled with powdered sugar).  Yum!

After perusing the market and picking up Winnie the Pooh inspired nesting dolls for Baby Girl’s room, we headed over to the Four Seasons for lunch at Allium.  We weren’t particular hungry after our taste treats from the fair, but it was nice to sit and relax together in a beautifully decorated hotel and enjoy the season.

week in review weekend 12-08-2015

Our weekend pretty much revolved around Elf.  Just kidding!  We did do other things, although Elf was certainly a big part of our weekend plans.  On Saturday evening we snuggled up by the fire to watch the movie Elf, which is one of my personal favorites.  “I’m singing!  I’m in a store and I’m singing!”  On Sunday evening we attended the musical version of Elf at the Marriott Theatre with my parents.  While it was not the same as the movie, it was definitely a lot of fun and certainly quite festive!

I vlogged a bit during our special holiday outing last week:

week in review winnie blogmas 12-08-2015In other festive news, I’ve decided to try keeping up with blogmas where I post every day through December 25 on my dog Winnie’s blog.  I thought this would be a fun way to share about my special girl during the holiday season and pick up her blog once again after a long hiatus.  Feel free to stop by every day for your daily dose of that fluffy princess in all of her holiday glory if you’re a Winnie fan like me!

I’d love to hear about your week if you care to share.
I hope that December is off to a great start for you!

PNL_Signature

* This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

16 comments

16 thoughts on “Week In Review | November 30 – December 6, 2015”

  1. Awww! Looks like a wonderful time! It brought back sweet memories of my time at Nuremberg’s ChristKindlesmarkt. I was wondering if yours served the Gluhwein(a hot wine) because I loved how they served it in mugs,like the one you purchased. Everyone walked around with their mugs, keeping their hands and toes 😉 warm with it, got refills when needed, and then took the mug home as a souvenir.

  2. Thanks for sharing Jen! That was a lovely classic Pretty Neat Living Vlog! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Enjoy that new little addition!!

  3. Hi Jen,
    I love your Holiday pictures of you and Don and Winnie. I love how couples do photo shoots right before baby and when baby arrives. Back in my day the nurse took a couple pictures in the hospital of the babies. So many of us are looking forward to seeing your precious little miracle. Lots of Holiday hugs to you and Don.

  4. So wonderful to see another vlog from you. I enjoy every one of them. It looked like a wonderful day of sharing each other’s company!

  5. Really enjoyed watching this vlog, especially as my sister and family were at that market on a different day and saw lovely photos of them on Facebook. So thanks for sharing Jen.

  6. Jen, you are so beautiful!! Glowing!! Thanks for taking us on your outing. Keep feeling well and Happy Holiday!!!! All the best, Robyn

  7. Wonderful post and a fun vlog! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Christkindl Market for those of us who don’t live in the area. What a fun place! Yummy food, fun souvenirs, holiday atmosphere.. what’s not to love! I really like that snowman mug! Perfect for hot cocoa with some marshmallows on top! 🙂

  8. Now that is what I call a wonderful weekend! Elf is one of my favorite movies and we just have to watch it every year.

  9. Jen,
    God bless you and your family. I have enjoyed watching you over the last year. I totally understand your thoughts and time will help you figure out what is best for your family.It has brought back great memories of our children. The best of life is yet to come. Thanks for the blogging friendship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up