Week In Review | August 2 – August 9, 2015

We’re back in one of my favorite places on earth: Utah!  It’s so nice to be with the family surrounded by such beautiful scenery.  I’d like to share some tidbits from my life last week as well as an accompanying photo recap with selections from my Instagram feed with you.

week in review going to utah august 2015

We made the trek out to the family abode in Utah mid-last week after a hectic couple of days trying to squeeze a lot of home and work prep in.  It was all well worth it once I saw those beautiful mountains out the airplane window!  We had the most spectactulr views of the Great Salt Lake on the way in.  Of course, I had to bring along my little unicorn plush with our baby’s heartbeat recorded inside.  I couldn’t leave home without it!

week in review life in utah august 2015

Don’s parents and his sister’s family were already at the house and well settled by the time we arrived.  We had some major catching up to do with our niece, Grace, who is talking up a storm and interested in telling everyone her life story.  She’s super cute!  Our dog Winnie and Don’s sister’s dog, Yoda, have quickly taken on guard dog duty to the little princess.  How sweet is that?

I always feel right at home the moment we step foot in the house and am able to fall into my Utah daily routines quickly.  I still follow much of the same schedule that I do at home with a morning walk with Winnie followed by my workout, then working for the bulk of the day, and joining the family for dinner and relaxing afterward.

week in review utah saturday august 2015

I put my routine aside on the weekend in order to spend quality time with my parents who flew in for a visit.  It was so much fun to have both families under one roof for a few days!  We greeted them on Saturday with a Welcome BBQ.  We laid out the snacks, or “a party,” as Grace likes to call it, and sat outside on the gazebo.  Don smoked an amazing brisket and his famous ribs.  It was a tasty feast!

week-in-review-weekend-08-09-2015

My Dad loves fly fishing and had booked a couple of days with a guide, so Don and I took my Mom out for special outings.  On Sunday morning we hiked the Stewart Cascades Trail in the Uinta National Forest.  How beautiful!  That afternoon we met up with my Dad for a relaxing afternoon spent by the pool at a local club we belong to.  On Monday morning my Mom and I drove into Park City for a little girl time window shopping.  We rented a boat that afternoon at Deer Creek Reservoir.  Don’s Dad, Keith, was the captain, and Don, Mom, and I enjoyed the ride.  We couldn’t have asked for better weather for my parents’ stay!

I vlogged during our weekend with the family:

In other news, I finally joined Snapchat and have been happily snapping away since.
Here’s a peek at some of my snaps from the past week:

week in review snapchat recap august 2015

Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like there is a way to see my snaps on a web browser.  If you’d like to follow me and you don’t already have the app, you can download it for free from the app store.
Here’s my user info if you’d like to stay in the loop:

snapchat user account

I’d love to hear about your week if you care to share.
I hope you’re all doing well and enjoying a beautiful summer!

PNL_Signature

* This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

15 comments

15 thoughts on “Week In Review | August 2 – August 9, 2015”

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your life Jen! I look forward to your posts vlogs and reviews… my husband often finds me and says “oh hello jen” we have a super busy family of with six kids and keeping up with you is a fun breath of fresh for me!

    we started a vlog over the past week, more for our own memories but it has been fun to do as a family together…

    This will be great for you to look back on as the years go by!It all goes so quickly, soak it in momma!

    All the best!

  2. Love these Utah pictures. My husband travelled there for about a year for work; he has promised to take me some day!
    It’s the last week of summer here. Getting the kids ready to head back to school on Monday and soaking up our last few days together. 🙂

  3. You and Don are just such an adorable couple! This was a fun video to watch and it sounds like you’re having a nice time in Utah with family, getting some R&R. Thanks for giving us a peak! Hope you are having a great week! <3

  4. You said you had to catch up with your niece? She lives a few houses down on the same street as you do. You dont have visits? nuts!

    1. She was at the Utah house for over a week before we came, so yes, we had some catching up to do. Grace always has lots to share!

  5. I so love that you share your life with us!! Thanks for that 🙂

    I was so happy to see a new vlog, drinking my coffee…wishing it were already time to go pick up my sweet girl from Kindergarten!

  6. I love Utah! It is so beautiful. Did I hear you mention Heber in your vlog? We have friends there and have visited numerous times. I always look for the “sleeping princess” in the mountains there. Getting unusually tired (and starved!) while hiking there 14 years ago was actually my first tip off to finding out I was pregnant with our first. Hope you have a lovely time.

  7. Hello future mommy Jen,

    Please tell me which mop you use for your floors I know I saw it on your videos.
    It was rectangular, had Velcro on the back of dusting pad. It seemed so much better than Swiffer type mop. Thank you and many blessings on your pregnancy you sure will be living the good life once your baby arrives because there is no greater experience then being a parent. Blessings.

    1. We actually use a swiffer to dust and a sponge mop to wash the floors. I’m not sure what mop you saw in my video…

  8. Yippee! LOVE your Utah vlogs! Sounds like you guys are having a wonderful time! It’s so nice to see how all of your families are so close and that Suzanne and Keith also welcome your parents out to their Utah home! So wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up