Plum Paper Planner vs Erin Condren Life Planner: Planner Comparison & Review

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile now, you know that I am pretty obsessed with all things Erin Condren Design, most especially the Life Planner.  I’m on my second Life Planner now, which I use for scheduling all of my posts and videos and for planning my web content.  I’ve received requests to compare the Life Planner to a planner by Plum Paper Design since they are both similar in size, basic style, and calendar layout.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_01

The Plum Paper Planner and Erin Condren Life Planner look quite similar at first glance.  They’re both roughly the same size, with a reinforced cover on front and back as well as a spiral coil binding.  Both planners include month on two page spreads and week on two page calendars with laminated monthly tabs along the righthand edge.  You can also order additional months from 2014 for each planner.  The calendar layout is similar, aalthough there are quite a few organizational and stylistic differences which I will explore more thoroughly in this post.

Plum Paper Planner

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_02

The Plum Paper Planner is designed by a stationery company based in San Diego, California.  In addition to planners, Plum Paper also has a wedding collection sold in stores.  They sell not only regular calendar planners like the one I am sharing today, but also ones designed for Teachers, Students, and Families, as well as Fitness, Wedding, and Meal planners.  They also carry a line of spiral notebooks.  All of these items can be personalized and come in a nice range of designs.  The regular planner is offered in 48 different cover options.  This 12-month planner is sold through Etsy and retails for $31 plus a $10 shipping fee in the US.  It is available for shipping to the US and Canada only.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_04

My Plum Paper Planner shipped out about four weeks after ordering, as indicated in the listing, and arrived within a week of shipping.  It came in a plastic overwrap and was packaged in a padded mailer.  The planner measures 7.5″ wide x 9″ long x .75″ thick with a 1″ coil.  It weighs approximately one pound three ounces.  The translucent frosted plastic cover on both the front and back protects the printed card stock with the cover design.  The planner is bound spiral style with a thick metal coil.  Each planner can be customized with a personalized name on the cover.

Please note – Plum Paper has updated the policies page on their Etsy shop since this post went up with clearer information about their offerings.  They also offer customization on each planner including color changes, font changes (substitute any font that they offer on their other planner designs), adding a second line of text, removing the year, and adding a photo or monogram.

I couldn’t find any information on what weight paper they use, but it feels fairly heavy with little to no bleed through and has a bit of a slip to it.  The interior pages begin with a cover sheet and a 2015 at-a-glance calendar spread on two pages.  The bulk of the calendar follows with card stock dividers for each month and laminated tabs flanking the righthand side in subdued pastels that match the design color scheme nicely.  Each monthly section is flanked by a lined note page.  At the end of the calendar there is a two page spread for special dates broken down by month, a contacts sheet, major US holidays for 2014, 2015, and 2016, as well as a 2016 at-a-glance calendar on one page.  There is a card stock double-sided horizontal pocket page at the very back of the planner.  The planner is printed and bound in the US.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_05

The bulk of the planner is dedicated to twelve months of dated pages.  As I mentioned before, each month is divided by white card stock with a colorful laminated tab.  The tabs are not printed on both sides (the back side is left white).  Each month begins with the two page monthly spread calendar with some colorful details that match the coordinating tab. The monthly spread is well designed to maximize space, with clear boxes and ample room to write.  Major US holidays are printed in grey without interfering with the design.  The left margin includes lined sections for listing birthdays and special events, as well as a blank area for notes.

OJ|OLJ_10-26-2014_11

The week on two page spreads are designed vertically and each day of the week is allocated a column.  There are four different weekly spread options you can choose from when ordering, including days broken down by “Morning, Afternoon, and Evening,” days broken down in 30 minute increments, days broken down with just lines in each column, and lined note pages instead of weekly spread pages.  I chose the days with blank lines version.  All three dated weekly spread options are organized vertically and include a column on the lefthand side with a small at-a-glance calendar for that month, a bullet point lined weekly checklist, and a blank section for notes.  There are a few discreet color details, but otherwise the design is very simple and streamlined.  The bottom of each day’s column includes a three point checklist.

Add-ons for an additional cost include monthly bill trackers, sticker sheets, note pages, cleaning charts, checklists, extra contacts sheets, a photo design on the cover, and a design proof.

Erin Condren Life Planner

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_06

The Life Planner is a product by Erin Condren, a stationery and accessories designer who turned a hobby into a burgeoning business.  The amount her company has grown over the last few years is amazing!  Erin Condren Designs creates not only their gorgeous planner line, which includes the Life Planner, a Teacher Lesson Planner, Wedding Planner, and Address Book, but also other gorgeous stationery items such as customized spiral notebooks, stationery, invitations, and address labels.  They also offer a gorgeous acrylic accessories line, travel items, office supplies, and more.  The Life Planner is available for purchase through their website with 75 different cover designs to chose from and customizable options including personalization and color schemes.  The 12-month planner costs $50 ($65 for the platinum and $75 for the gold foil editions) with basic personalization plus $7.95+ shipping within the US.  The planner is available internationally, but shipping prices do go up and customers are responsible for any customs or taxes on their end.

OJ_OLJ_06-27-2014_01

My Erin Condren Life Planner shipped about two weeks after ordering, as indicated on the product page, and arrived within a week (I opted for the $9.95 Fedex Ground shipping, which I highly suggest for just $2 more than the lowest rate since it is so much faster).  It came packaged in bubble wrap and tissue in a decorated cardboard box.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_07

The 12-month planner measures 7.25″ wide x 9.25″ long x .75″ wide with a 1.15″ coil and weighs just under one pound two ounces.  This is where the similarities in design to the Plum Paper Planner end for the most part.  The Erin Condren Life Planner includes a cover made with a vibrantly printed cardstock and heavy duty 10 mm lamination for durability, which also makes it easy to wipe clean.  The covers in the 2015 range are now interchangeable and they offer many designs for sale so you can switch the look of your planner up at any time and use the covers from year to year.  The aluminmum coil is the sturdiest of all the spiral bound planners I have reviewed thus far and unlike any I have seen on other notebooks.  Each Life Planner comes with a snap-in ruler to mark the current week.

The planner pages are printed on 70 pound paper that works well with both ball point and felt tip pens with no bleed through.  The interior is vibrant with color and the Erin Condren design motifs are everywhere.  This is definitely more of a playful design than the Plum Paper version.  After the cover page there are a few design pages, a 2014-15 at-a-glance calendar spread on two pages, and then the calendar.  At the end there is a section of both lined and unlined note paper with its own designated tab.  A 2016-17 at-a-glance calendar on two pages follows the note section.  There are four sticker sheets included, two of which are printed and two left blank.  The double-sided “Keep It Together” folder is made from a satin printed card stock with a deep pocket.  There is a vinly zip pouch at the very back of the planner which comes stocked with twelve personalized gift labels, a few “let’s get together” cards, and a couple of spiral paper clips.  The Life Planner is printed and bound in the US.

OJ_OLJ_06-27-2014_04

The 2015 Life Planner also comes stocked with a removable perpetual calendar booklet for special dates and important contacts, which makes it easy to use year after year without having to write everything over again.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_08

Just like the Plum Paper Planner, the majority of the Life Planner is dedicated to dated calendar pages.  The Life Planner, however, does not include monthly dividers. The colorful monthly tabs are laminated and popped right onto the monthly spread calendar pages.  The tabs are double-sided.  As you can see, the Life Planner calendar designs include a lot more color and pizazz, although I feel that they do not sacrifice much calendar space.  The month on two page spreads include a colorful bold header with the month and a motivational phrase..  There is a lined section on the righthand margin for notes.  Major US holidays are notated in small print with a very subtle design flourish.  The calendar itself is clear and easy to navigate with ample room to write.  The week on two page spreads immediately follow the monthly calendar and use vertical organization just like the Plum Paper Planner.  There is no choice in the weekly layout with the Life Planner, however.  Each day is allocated a column which spans the length of the page and is divvied up into Morning, Day, and Night blank sections with a smaller lined section below.  Each month follows a two-tone color scheme.  The lefthand margin includes a small at-a-glance calendar for that month with a lined section for Weekly Goals & Notes.  There is a bubble like design separating this from the daily calendar columns.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_09

There are a variety of accessories available for purchase for the Life Planner, including the option to add a photo to the front and/or back of your planner, a design proof, the aforementioned interchangeable covers, extra snap-in rulers, elastic bands (the foil editions come with one), a pen holder, and the new coil clips, which allow you to pop extra items such as invitations and announcements right into the coil and move them around your planner as you see fit.

You can receive $10 off your first purchase when you sign up for the Erin Condren newsletter (which means you receive the occasional email on current promotions and new products from them) by clicking here.  

A Note About the Coil Binding

ECLPvsPlum_2014Oct24_0090

OJ}_OLJ_10-26-2014_03I was very disappointed when my Plum Paper Planner arrived with a damaged coil.  The bottom two rungs are bent so out of shape that it affects how easy it is to turn the pages.  The planner does not lay perfectly flat because of this.  I believe this damage occurred in transit and could have been prevented with better packaging.  That being said, while the Plum Paper Planner coil is certainly stronger than those of the Simplified Planner and Day Designer which I reviewed last week, it does not compare to the strength of the Life Planner coil.  Its durability is quite impressive and, like I said, I have yet to see its equal in any other spiral bound planner or notebook.

OJ_OLJ_10-26-2014_10Please note – I have spoken with Plum Paper since the original posting about the damage and they sent a replacement.  They have also informed me that all planners will henceforth be mailed out in boxes, which should help prevent damage in transit.  My replacement planner came packaged in bubble wrap in a box with a paid USPS envelope to send the original planner back to the company.

Check out my coordinating video if you’d like a closer look and to hear my thoughts on each planner:

I wanted to share the planner love with you so I am hosting two HUGE giveaways!

Giveaway #1 is a big Erin Condren Gift Card giveaway.  There will be TWENTY-FIVE winners!  The Erin Condren ECLP Gift Card Giveaway will run until Monday, November 10, 2014 at 6 PM CT.  The giveaway is open internationally (you can find information about Erin Condren international shipping costs here).  All entrants under the age of 18 must have parental permission to enter.  Twenty-five winners will receive a $100 electronic gift card for use at ErinCondren.com.  You can enter by following the directions in the Rafflecopter widget posted below (check out this blog post for more information on entering Rafflecopter giveaways).   I’ll announce the winners on THIS blog and post contact the winners directly through email.  Good luck!

*** GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED ***

Congrats to the winners of the Erin Condren ECLP Gift Card Giveaway!

The Poll Results for *Which planner do you like best?* out of 3299 entries:

Erin Condren Life Planner (2977) 90%
Plum Paper Planner (322) 10%

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway #2 is a massive Plum Paper Planner giveaway generously provided by Plum Paper Designs.  Twenty-five of you will win one of Plum Paper’s beautiful 12 month regular planners.  That’s right, another TWENTY-FIVE winners!  The Plum Paper 2015 Planner Giveaway will run until Monday, November 10, 2014 at 6 PM CT.  The giveaway is open to US participants only.  All entrants under the age of 18 must have parental permission to enter.  Twenty-five winners will receive a Regular 12 month Plum Paper Planner of their choice.  You can enter by following the directions in the Rafflecopter widget posted below (check out this blog post for more information on entering Rafflecopter giveaways).   I’ll announce the winners on THIS blog post and Plum Paper will contact the winners directly through email with instructions on how to pick out and receive their planner.  Good luck!

*** GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED ***

Congrats to the winners of thePlum Paper 2015 Planner Giveaway!

The Poll Results for *What would you like to see as a new add on for Plum Paper planners?* out of 1182 entries:

Shopping List (728) 62%
Gift Giving List (193) 16%
Travel Checklist (167) 14%
Something else (94) 8%

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sometimes Rafflecopter experiences technical difficulties.  If you can’t enter for some reason, try again later and it will probably work.

While the two planners share some basic similarities in size and layout, there is quite a disparity in price.  I believe you get what you pay for in opting for the more expensive Life Planner, as it feels sturdier and comes with more design features and extras built right in than the Plum Paper Planner.  Plum Paper does offer a great variety of add-on pages for an additional price and more customizability within the calendar itself.  The choice comes down to personal taste and price.  Both are, in my opinion, lovely customizable options with great features that really highlight the calendar with room for planning.  Big thanks to both companies for their generosity and amazing designs!
Check back next week for another planner comparison style review!

signatureblue

* Post contains referral links.  The 2015 ECLP was sent to me for consideration.  I purchased the 2014 ECLP and Plum Paper Planner with my own money.  I am using my Erin Condren referral credits to provide the Erin Condren giveaway prizes.  Plum Paper is generously providing the Plum Paper planners as prizes.  This is not a sponsored post or video.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

138 comments

138 thoughts on “Plum Paper Planner vs Erin Condren Life Planner: Planner Comparison & Review”

    1. An easy way for me to remember which of these homonyms to use is stationery has “er” just like paper does.

      Mind tools are so very interesting 🙂

    2. They look so much a like…. It makes me wonder if they tried to copy Erin’s planner, with slight changes… Or if the company for the Condrin planner is making another sister compnay…. I still like Erin’s planner more. And am so glad for the review. Because I keep trying to do review’s through websites. But it is hard when you don’t have them in front of you. Which is why i love this channel so much. You give very helpful advise before we fork out the cash…. HUGS JEN!!!!!!!!!! Annabell.

      1. A lot of planners have similar layouts because there’s only so much you can do with a calendar. It’s the little things that make the biggest differences for individual preferences in my experience 🙂

        1. Thank you so much for your review. Now that I see there is little difference between the planners, I am definitely trying the Plum Paper planner! I have had the most horrible experience with EC customer service. My planner was defective and they refuse to let me return it or refund my $$$

  1. Hi Jen!
    I’m so glad that you’ve finally shown a planner review that is available through shipping to Canada! IMO, I think that the Erin Condren products are lovely, however it’s a bit too much colour so I personally prefer the other version instead! To each their own, right?

  2. Thank you for this information. I’ve been waffling on whether or not to invest in the Erin Condren, then saw the Plum Paper planner and was putting together my order. Seeing them compared side by side made my decision much easier. I will definitely be investing in the Life Planner.

  3. Hi Jen,
    Do you think you can do a fishDIY before the beginning of the year so we can get started and understand it by Jan 15.
    Thanks for the review.

  4. I’m so behind on all of your videos-life has taken over a bit recently lol! I love your planner ones and managed to click straight on this one and watch with a cuppa. Have heard of Paper Plum Planners and I did contact them from the UK, they are willing to ship to us if willing to pay the cost but it was more expensive than Erin Condren unfortunately. But, it is nice to see one in the flesh so to speak! I really enjoy seeing what other people use and what is out there! Thanks for the fab giveaway too! Will try and catch up on your videos….can’t wait to watch your Italy vlogs and the other planner videos I’ve missed so far! Thanks for sharing xx

  5. Thanks for another thorough review 🙂 it’s so generous of you to share your EC credits when you could use them yourself. Thanks for the chance to win. EC is my preference although I wish EC would offer customization of the planner pages themselves…like Plum Paper Planner does. EC is great to make changes based on customer feedback so hopefully they’ll make this one too 🙂

  6. Jen you are so generious and erin condren planners are great they have alot of add ons and the have a tone of front and back covers to choose from
    Thank You

  7. I am putting together my Erin Condren wish list right now to send to my husband for my Christmas list this year!! I have been going back and forth about whether to purchase one or not but your planner series has helped me to decide! Thank you for taking the time to review all different planners for us. Great timing too as the end of the year is almost here and I have begun my Holiday shopping. I am going to buy one for my sister as a gift this year along with some accessories! Thanks again!

  8. Thank you for the comparison between the two planners. Both are beautiful, but I’m favoring the Erin Condren planner a bit more.

  9. Wow! What a generous give away, as usual!! Thanks for the chance to win, I’d love an Erin Condrin life planner :0)

  10. Can you tell if they invluude week numbers? I work every other week so easier if I can know work or no work when writing down apointments and get back with an answer right away

  11. I had purchased a Plum Paper Planner last year & enjoyed it. It was great for the price and there was an additional benefit to purchasing through them was that they allow you to purchase your planner unbound/unpunched so that you can punch it yourself if you use an ARC system. That is how I ordered mine and it worked great for me. Just recently I decided to purchase my 1st Erin Condren Planner. Yes it is more expensive but it is well worth every cent in my opinion!!! Beautifully made without a doubt! Now my planner has just as much personality as I do 🙂

  12. Thank you so much for spending so much time comparing these planners. I first discovered your YouTube channel about a month ago. It has helped me realize that I am not crazy to get excited by planners, pens and all stuff that can be found in an office supply store!! I have started using my old day runner planner trying to figure out how I want to use a planner and to start using one at home.

    I also enjoyed watching a bunch of Winnie’s videos. We have 4 dogs and I will be taking my first airline flight with one of the dogs this week. Your videos have helped me to get ready, with tips I would not have thought of.

    Thanks so much for the opportunity to win such a generous prize.

    1. While the holes do line up, the coil of the PPP is not thick enough to hold the ECLP ruler. It doesn’t snap in like it does in the ECLP.

      1. They do work with the PPP depending on the size of the coil – it does with mine, 12 month with add on note pages

  13. Thank you so much for taking the time to do all the videos you do. I really want to go with the EC planner! Thanks for a chance to win one!!

  14. Love the Erin Condren Life Planners! Thank you for opening up my eyes to the many other possible planner options through your videos Jen. Also, a big thanks for the chance to win! A voucher would go a long way towards paying the expensive international shipping to Australia.

  15. Hi Jen!
    So, I was watching both your Large Vanity and your Travel Gear Organization videos and I was wondering what the expression “PR” stands for? I tried looking for the definition online, but no such luck.
    Thanks and have a great day!

  16. Jen, you do a great job on your comparison/review videos. I have taken what you have said on several item and you are spot on in your recommendations. Thank you for taking the time to do them. I value your opinion. Your generosity is amazing. You have a kind heart!

  17. It is interesting that you received three planners of different brands with damage on the coil. It would be better if the planners are wrapped in bubble wrap and shipped in a sturdy box like the Erin Condren one. I received a binder with metal rings of another company in a package envelope and it was in perfect condition. However, a box could prevent damage. It would also be nice if Plum Paper offered a week layout that did not have the vertical columns. I like that they print the numerical dates at the top of the page away from the day of the week unlike the Erin Condren planner.

      1. Omg, just found Inkwell Press today and have been checking out their site all evening. I’d get one, BUT I’ve already ordered a Plum Paper. Inkwell is *beautiful*, but need to remind myself why I love PP – because I was able to personalize it with names of my kids/hubby on each page of the weekly view in the family planner. Now if only it would arrive…I ordered it 20 days ago (!) hopefully soon!!! Love your YT/blog…totally motivates me to get organized!

        ps – yay for PP switching to shipping in boxes!

        1. That’s a nice personalization they offer on the Family Planners! It does say on their listings that it takes 3-4 weeks to ship. Hopefully yours will be ready and in your hands soon. Enjoy!

  18. Hi! Thanks so much for this review! you’ve definitely provided a great deal of very useful information. Now, I just have to sit myself down and make a decision.

  19. Thank you for the review! I love my Erin Condren planner, but it’s always nice to see what else is out there. You do a wonderful job at giving an honest and informative comparison. 🙂

  20. Thank you for doing these planner reviews! This year I have started using a planner again. I was trying to use the calendar on my phone and that worked for appointments but it wasn’t really working for other things. I found it just took to long to enter things in my phone and it was just faster to write it down. I bought a planner from Walmart and told myself if I got back into the habit of using it on a regular basis then I could reward myself with a nice planner. I am leaning toward the Erin Condren planner but am enjoying watching what else if available. Thank you so much for the time and effort you are putting into these reviews. You are doing all the leg work for me. I am truly enjoying your channels and your blogs.

  21. Great review…I wondered if Erin Condren planners were really worth paying more for and your comparison convinced me it is!!

  22. So excited to see your very thorough review – both on your blog and on your youtube. You always do such a nice job reviewing products and I appreciate your honesty and candid perspective about things. I’m really excited to enter this giveaway because I’m a serious EC fan – I have both the LP and the TP – and I would love to win one of your giftcards to give to my mentor (a colleague) because after seeing my TP, she really REALLY wants one of her own. Sure she could buy one for herself but I would love to hand her a giftcard because she’s been such an amazing mentor to me and while I feel I owe her so much more, an ECTP (or LP I guess if she would rather) would be a long overdue thank you gift.

  23. I purchased my 2014 Erin Condren Planner thanks to a review you did earlier in the year (unfortunately signed up on the EC site, not through your referral link, sorry!). I absolutely love the planner. The colorful design (and price) keeps me interested in maintaining my organization so I find it gets much more use than a plainer planner. I’ve just ordered my 2015 planner and accessories so I will be prepared for next year with plenty of time to spare! Keep up the great reviews!!

  24. I really love all your planner videos, Jen! Seeing all the details you pay attention to has made me realize (once more) that the planner you will create/design, whenever that will be, is going to be the most useful planner I could ever find. I’ve watched your channels for a long time now and seeing all that you’ve accomplished makes me certain that whatever other dreams/goals you have will certainly become reality 🙂

  25. Thanks for reviewing this! I’ve had the life planner this year and I love how the coil just keeps kicking. I have four kids whom I homeschool and we travel across the country (and sometimes overseas) a couple of times a year. I love that my life planner doesn’t look ratty.

    I love the look of the plum designs but I’m bummed that the coil is not good. (That’s expressly what I was trying to figure out so thanks for the pic!)

    1. All you have to do is request the larger coil. PPP has two sizes of coil. Jen got the smaller coil for the 12 month planner, but if you get additional pages or an 18 month planner you get the larger coil which is exactly the same as the EC coil, same size, same durability, same thickness! Just request it in the description box when you order, i love my larger coil! AND the EC bookmark fits beautifully!

  26. What happened to the video? I finally got some time to sit down and watch it, and the video is gone! Will it be back up soon? Thanks!

    1. I am re-filming it due to some errors on my part about the Plum Paper Planner. I hope to have the new video up soon.

  27. The timing on this review is perfect! Thanks for a thorough look at both planners. Just a note, though, I asked earlier today and received a response from Erin Condren customer service. They no longer offer a credit/discount just for signing up on their site.

    1. I spoke with my contact at Erin Condren and they assured me that they still offer $10 credit to new customers signing up on their site. In fact, if you click on “Invite a Friend” at the top of the page at ErinCondren.com you can see that this referral program is indeed still offered. It is only applicable to first time customers who haven’t previously signed up.

  28. Thanks for another great giveaway! I used the Plum Paper Planner for 2014 and just received the Erin Condren Life Planner for 2015. I really enjoyed the PP one and still really like it. It has held up beautifully, and my coils are still in like new condition after 10 months of use. I really like the layout options of the PP planner and the cover of the EC planner. I had a credit for EC, so I decided to give that one a go for the new year. I ordered the free cover and figured out that if you take the PP cover off of the PP planner you can add the new EC cover and fits perfectly. http://instagram.com/p/utViCJAqGS/?modal=true

  29. Thank you for the chance to enter a great giveaway. I only follow your Pinterest boards that are of interest to me (that’s true of everyone I follow on Pinterest, not just you). Does that qualify or do we have to follow all your boards? I want as many entries as possible (would love to win one of the gift cards!), but I don’t want to cheat. Thanks again for your generosity towards your viewers/readers.

    1. TBH, that part is controlled through the Rafflecopter widget I use and I believe it is to follow my entire account. You’re welcome to unfollow after the contest is over 🙂

  30. I don’t have an EC planner but did receive my PP Planner a few weeks ago. I love it but was disappointed with the flimsy shipping envelope! I’m glad to read that they are going to start shipping them in boxes now.

  31. For each of the calendars, I’d like to see a removable bookmark page that is open on two sides, so I could slide my own to do list or shopping list in it. I typically have things that need to get done in a certain week, but not on a certain day or at a set time. It sves me time if I don’t have to recopy them from one day to the next.

    I’d also like to see a laminated two sided page that I can use to put post-it notes on. I like to keep a running list somewhere of things to do when I am in a certain town. Right now I don’t have a spot to anchor those post-it notes so I sometimes have then floating in my purse and not very organized.

    Because, of course, we all believe that once we find that perfect planner, everything in our life will magically fall into place. I’m waiting for the magic.

  32. I would add to the Plum Paper design (which is already fantastic and since they give options anyway) a vertical layout of the week on 2 pages. I especially like days of the week on one side (no lines) and a note page on the other. My to-do list usually spans several days so I like having an open space for that. Thanks for the great giveaways!

  33. I wish PPP had a clear ruler. Both planners look great. I wish we could take this from one and that from one! I keep going back and forth. I would love either one for different reasons. It sounds like they both have a good quality products!! So thank you for the video!

  34. Thank you for your updated review. I have used many different planners including ECLP but finally settled into my PP. I love the choice of layouts; I choose the family planner; yes it’s plainer without the neat sayings but for my scattered adhd brain it works. I could also pick the month to start my planner. AND I can use EC covers on it! Kinda the best of both worlds for me. I also use EC stickers though they are a smidge longer and the EC ruler. Again, thank you for the review. For folks considering either planner, keep in mind what your needs are and go from there.

  35. Thank you for the great comparison review! I’ve really wanted to know the difference between the two planners, so this was great!

  36. OMGosh, great blog. Excellent job girlie. Thank you for a chance to win. I have two 2014 EC planners as I could not make my mind up on the covers. Lol. I am so happy we can order extra covers now. I do like that PPP has 4 page layout options. Option 3 is the one I would choose.

  37. Thank you for a great review! I’m so sorry but I entered the PPP giveaway, and just found out it is US only! Ooops 🙂 You should be able to take back your own entries… Or maybe I should just try to control my excitement 😀 Thank you very much for sharing. Big hugs <3

  38. Thank you for reviewing both, in addition to other planners you have reviewed. Your reviews are quite useful and honest. I really appreciate the honest reviews and it takes courage to do so. Please continue to do them because it’s so helpful to consumers.

  39. Thank you so much for the comparison. I like the idea off the EC Life Planner, but to much color for me. I also really need the time increments on the weekly pages. Looks like I need a Plum planner.

  40. Just switching back to a paper planner after using my phone and Gmail for years. Ordered my PPP on the 1st. I chose it based on price. I couldn’t justify paying for an ECLP in case I decided paper wasn’t for me again. As my children get older, I can see myself moving towards a PPP Family Planner for sure!

    Would love to see PPP offer a book mark and resealable envelope like the EC one.

  41. First I want to say thank you for your wonderful videos! This is the first time I am actually writing to you, but I have watched a lot of your video blogs! You are very informative, entertaining and I get great ideas for projects and purchases!

    I would love to see both of these planners include a insert or booklet that is specifically made for storing usernames and passwords. I have a system now, but I would love to have it as an option for me to include in my lifeplanner.

    I Love them both for different uses! I think my preference is for ECP for daily personal life, but I think PP is a better set up for my business.

    Thank you for all that you do!

  42. Jen, Thanks so much for the review! I can’t stop watching it. I have an ECLP, but I want to order the hourly PPP and experience the difference. The giveaway has closed. How long does it take before you post the winners? Keep doing what you’re doing! Love it. 🙂

  43. I enjoyed your reviews so much (both versions). I was so excited to receive my EC Planner yesterday. I never knew EC existed until I started following you and after much agonizing I chose to go with Erin Condron over Kikki-k and never knew I could be this excited about a planner! (maybe Kikki next year or a small size just for meals or knitting projects)
    My only disappointment is that the elastic band was not included (I chose the platinum). Although I emailed them yesterday I have not heard back and I don’t see a phone number on their website.
    Can you give me some guidance in this matter? They included a $10 coupon in my order and I want to use it immediately towards several items but want to wait to have this matter cleared up thinking maybe they can send the band with my new order.
    I know this is kind of a small thing…..but still…..! One of the reasons I went with the platinum is that it did include the band and I didn’t have to purchase separately.

    On another note, your holiday cards came out great! I love the job they did front and the back is gorgeous!
    Thanks Jen, You’re the best!
    Michelle

    1. Shortly after I posted this comment I received an email from Erin Condron customer service and was offered a $10 voucher or they will send me the elastic band. I am very pleased 🙂

  44. Hello. I was wondering if you can help me in this situation. I just got my ECLP a few days ago and have already started decorating pages. Earlier today, I also order an InkWell Press Planner in classic style. I want to keep both, but because my life only consists of college, I really don’t have a use for both planners. I see a lot of bloggers with more than one planner. How can you suggest that I can keep both planners and actually use both at the same time? I really do want to have both.

    1. Hey Melissa why don’t you sell your Erin Condren on eBay? Or there are erin condren groups on Facebook they have a market place where they sell stuff to each other for cheap because using an expensive planner as a journal just wouldn’t work for me
      Let me know what you decide on doing

  45. Thanks for the review! I’m a planner addict & have yet to find one that meets all of my needs… I did purchase an EC 2 years ago, & loved the quality, design, & colors, but absolutely hate the weekly “columns”. In my job I need space to daily write out expenses, notes, etc… When the 2014 EC came out I was hoping they would offer a weekly layout as an option but they did not. I have sent emails & completed EC surveys asking for this modification, so once again waiting to see happens with the 2015 Lifeplanner. If anyone knows of a comparable planner to EC, but with the daily notes & monthly pages please let me know! I have also tried the Levenger circa smart planner & Daytimer – liked the layouts, but would love it with the colors & design of EC…

  46. LOVE your blog! And that was a very informative review of the EC vs. Plum. I looked at your blog several times when I was debating on which brand to go with. I chose EC, and am now completely addicted! Thanks for the help 🙂

  47. Oh my goodness I just received my very first Erin Condren life planner and I’m so excited! Im so bummed I missed your giveaway! What an amazing informative critique. I’m so jealous of all those girls that got $100 to Erin Condren. I don’t think I’ll be able to afford anything from her seeing as though I won the one I just got. Either way I thought your video and article were amazing! Best of luck Jenn! Xo

  48. I have been doing some research after being referred to Erin’s website. Is everyone aware that the same products are sold elsewhere and are less expensive (and according to dates, others had them first)? In particular, the phone cases are by a company called JiCase (J.I Case). Erins website neglects to tell you that they use a product for another company and simply screenprint your name (or whatever you want) on it – JiCase name is actually on the inside of the case!!!!. Save yourself some money people, do some research and you will find the same products for much less!

  49. Hi! I’ve been trying to decide which life planner I want, and I’m leaning more towards the Plum Paper Planner because of the Student option and the option to pick when my planner starts! A big thing for me is the Erin Condren interchangeable covers….. Do you know if the Erin Condren covers will fit on the Plum?
    Thanks!!
    Niki

  50. Hi Jen! Thanks for the review. I’ve been a faithful Plum Paper fan for the past year, but have recently been introduced to Erin Condren, so your side by side comparison really was wonderful. I ended up ordering another Plum Paper planner, as Erin Condren does not seem to have a family planner in its offerings. I even wrote to ask about it, because I know their new offerings are due out in less than a week. However, based on the response, I don’t expect to see a family planner this year. That said, I was wondering if you know if the interchangeable Erin Condren covers will fit on a Plum Paper? My new planner will be here before July begins, so I ordered it to cover 18 months, which I believe results in the use of a sturdier coil. At any rate, I was thinking about ordering an EC cover, and the meal planning bookmark, and was wondering if you know if those items will fit the PP coil.

    Thanks!
    Jo Anne

    1. I have been told by others that they do, but I haven’t tried myself. I bet if you google it you’d find a definitive answer. There’s a huge EC community out there!

  51. I have switched from EC to Plum Paper and am pleased. For 15-16, EC cut the number of blank pages in the back in half and that is not enough for me! (I was annoyed that this info is NOT on their website, by the way—I discovered it when my new EC planner arrived.) Plum Paper allows you to add additional plain lined pages in the Notes section. Perfect!

  52. Hi there! I noticed Nicole D. as a winner for the ECLP. Curious if that was me! I can furnish my email, etc for proof if need be! Thanks!!!

    1. I haven’t tried this myself, so I’m not 100% sure, but I *think* it’s possible. I recommend googling it. I’m sure someone out there has tried it!

  53. If you have an Erin Condren planner already are the accessories interchangeable with the plum paper? Could you use covers, Clips, Etc? Is the coil the same?

    1. I’m not exactly sure and I unfortunately cannot check as I do not have the Plum Paper Planner anymore, but from what I’ve heard through the planner community you can use the EC items with Plum Paper planners. I recommend googling it to be sure, though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up