Planner Preview | Erin Condren 2017-2018 Life Planners

It’s here! It’s early!  It’s bigger and better than ever!  It’s Erin Condren Life Planner launch time!  This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Life Planner and the folks over at Erin Condren Design have outdone themselves with all the amazing new products and features available with this launch.  I am a Life Planner lover through and through so this is an especially exciting post for me to put together.  I am over the moon with excitement to share a look at all this planner goodness with you!

Please be advised that some of the links provided are affiliate links and I do receive a small commission if you make a purchase using those links.  This does not cost you any extra when you make a purchase.  I very much appreciate your support of this blog in doing so!

erin condren life planner 2018 preview

I am so fortunate to have built up a great relationship with the lovely folks at Erin Condren Design who are always so kind and thoughtful with keeping me in the loop about new products.  They sent me the entire range of new Life Planners to share with you, including the oh-so fabulous new hardbound planners.  Believe it or not, I have even more photos to share than last year’s preview.  Just like before, this post will be image heavy and I’m going to let the photos do most of the talking.  You can check out my coordinating video below if you’d like to hear more of my thoughts.  Ok, let’s dive in!

Coil Bound Life Planner

erin condren life planner 2018

I want to begin with a look at the coil bound, because it is the original style and what I think of as the fundamental Life Planner.  It is being offered in three calendar options this year including 18 months (July 2017 – December 2018) and 12 months (July 2017 – June 2018 or January – December 2018).  You can customize your Life Planner even further, choosing between two color schemes (neutral or colorful) and three calendar layouts (vertical, horizontal, and hourly).  I will show detailed photos of each color scheme and all of the calendar layouts below.

The Life Planner comes with an interchangeable laminate cover that can be personalized.  There are about 20 new cover styles available with this launch, including the new primary design, Painted Petals (shown above).  Erin Condren Design has released their luxe range again as well, which debuted last year.  The Luxe Life Planner comes with a leather-like permanently coiled-in cover that can also be personalized.  It is available in three colors, light taupe, sapphire, and black, and can be personalized with a monogram in either silver, rose gold, gold, or with a blind imprint.

erin condren life planner 2018

You can pick from four coil metals, including silver, gold, rose gold, and black.  I believe the 12 month coil is slightly smaller than the 18 month coil which still measures 30mm.  This is by far the best coil I have seen on a planner to date.  This coil is one of the main reasons I come back to a Life Planner year after year.  It is incredibly durable and beautiful as well.

So many choices make for one highly customizable planner!  Each Life Planner is hand assembled and hand coiled right here in the USA.  How awesome is that?

erin condren life planner 2018

One of the biggest updates to the Life Planner this year is the switch Erin Condren Design made to using 80 pound premium paper by Mohawk, a New York paper mill that was established in 1931.  This environmentally friendly company uses wind power and is FSC certified.  The archival quality paper has an amazing feel and vibrancy to it.  Mohawk’s attention to craftsmanship is evident in this beautiful paper.  It really dresses up the Life Planner, which was already pretty fancy so that’s saying something!  You can really tell the difference in the vibrancy of the printed ink on the pages.  Even the monthly quote pages got an upgrade this year with a heavier weight paper and sturdier tabs.

erin condren life planner

Each Life Planner comes with a clear snap-in bookmark now updated with the painted petals design and a ruler (not shown).  The Plan For It Pouch is not coiled in so that you can use it however you prefer.  A 6″ coil clip is included that can be attached to the pouch so you can keep it in your planner should you chose to.  It also comes packed with 3 sample compliment cards, 4 sample gift labels and 2 friends and family discount cards.

erin condren life planner 2018

The front pages are the same in all colorful scheme planners regardless of the layout.  The Painted Petals design is featured throughout, including on the vellum overlay, quote pages, mini months, and monthly goals spreads.

erin condren life planner 2018

The end of the month note page got a makeover this year with a more structured look.  And check out how vibrant the new jewel-toned water color palette is on that gorgeous Mohawk paper!

erin condren life planner 2018

The two-page monthly spreads feature a simpler look with a focus on that month’s color scheme as the main design focal point.  This is the same for all colorful scheme coiled planners regardless of the layout.

erin condren life plannerColorful // Vertical Weekly Layout

erin condren life plannerColorful // Horizontal Weekly Layout

erin condren life plannerColorful // Hourly Weekly Layout

erin condren life planner

The front pages of all neutral scheme planners are the same regardless of the layout.  Just like with the colorful planners, the Painted Petals design is featured throughout the neutral scheme planners, including on the vellum overlay, quote pages, mini months, and monthly goals spreads with only very light brushes of color.

erin condren life planner 2018

Subdued touches of color are included on the end of the month note pages with the new structured design as well as on the tabbed monthly divider quote pages.

erin condren life planner

As you can see, the neutral monthly two-page spread is much different from the colorful.  There is a bigger emphasis on white space and light dots as opposed to solid lines.  This monthly spread is the same for all neutral coiled planners regardless of the weekly layout.  Monthly color schemes continue to pop up even in the neutral planners but only as a small flag on the top of each page and a small banner on top of the margin on the monthly spread.

erin condren life planner 2018

The neutral planners show the biggest changes in terms of design from last year.  I am including comparison photos of this and last year’s neutral monthly and weekly planner spreads

erin condren life planner 2018Neutral // Vertical Weekly Layout

erin condren life planner 20182018 vs 2017

erin condren life planner 2018Neutral // Horizontal Weekly Layout

erin condren life planner 20182018 vs 2017

erin condren life planner 2018Neutral // Hourly Weekly Layout

erin condren life planner

The back pages of both colorful and neutral scheme planners include 4 pages of lined note paper, 4 pages of dot grid paper, and, new this year, 4 coloring pages like the ones shown above.

erin condren life planner 2018

After the note and coloring pages, there is a mini months section for 2019 planning which is the same in colorful and neutral (although in black and white, not shown).  Following that is one quote page (again, the same in neutral just in black and white, not shown), and four brand new sticker sheets featuring two pages of metallic foiled stickers and two sheets of colorful banners (the same in both neutral and colorful planners).

erin condren life planner

The Keep It Together folder is the same as last year with a taller pocket on one side and a more shallow one on the other, now updated with the Painted Petals design.  Each planner comes with a Perpetual Calendar, which is great to keep track of birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, and other special occasions that don’t change year to year.

Hardbound Life Planner

erin condren life planner 2018

New this year to the Life Planner lineup are the gorgeous hardbound planners, which are available in four colors, two layouts, and two sizes.  The 8×10 hardbound is only available with a vertical layout and the 5×7 size is only available in a horizontal layout.  Both sizes are available in all four colors, including cherry blossom with rose gold accents, black with gold accents, turquoise with turquoise accents, and linen with platinum accents.  Each color planner has a different interior design scheme. Cherry blossom includes the bold bouquet design, black comes with a neutral mid century circles design, turquoise features fleur feliz, and linen includes the colorful mid century circles design.

erin condren life planner 2018

Each hardbound planner features a satin finish cover that is soft to the touch with the year printed in a metallic flag on the spine.  The paper is edged to match the accent color of the cover. A coordinating ribbon bookmark is bound into the cover, as well.

These planners are priced lower than the coiled Life Planners: $30 for the 5×7 and $35 for the 8×10 with an additional $5 for personalization on the cover (coiled Life Planners start at $50 and the price increases depending on coil color and personalization).  The hardbound planners are only available in an 18 month calendar (July 2017 – December 2018).

erin condren life planner 2018

The 8×10 vertical boxes are slightly larger than the original coiled Life Planner vertical boxes.  This might be an important note if you’re someone who plans with stickers like me. The 8×10 lies flat well without being broken in.

erin condren life planner 2018

The 5×7 will stay open without being held before breaking in.  I believe that with time and use it would eventually lay almost flat on its own despite its small size.

New Accessories

Erin Condren Design is also launching fun accessories alongside the new planners, including a new sticker book, neutral elastic bands, pastel dual-tipped markers, and a new dashboard, compliment cards (not shown), mini snap-in bookmarks (not shown), sticky notes, and storage pockets featuring the Painted Petals design.  The are 4 new magnetic page markers and 3 designs of paper tape (not shown).

erin condren life planner 2018

The accessory I’m most excited about is the Planny Pack.  It’s a beautiful pen case and planner band all in one!  It easily fits over the coil bound planner and both sizes of the hardbound planner.  It includes a main zip compartment and a slip pocket on the underside as well.  I think this is a great add-on for someone who takes their planner on the go with them.  It is available in cherry blossom, black, and linen.

I go through all of the planners (except for the hourly) and accessories in great detail in this video:

All new Life Planners and accessories go on pre-sale on May 4, 2017.  You can receive $10 off your first Erin Condren purchase by signing up for their e-newsletter here (*referral link).

I’d like to share the Life Planner love with some of you!  The Erin Condren 2018 Life Planner Launch Giveaway will run until Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 6 PM CT.  The giveaway is open internationally.  All entrants under the age of 18 must have parental permission to enter.  SIX winners will receive a $200 ErinCondren.com electronic gift card as well as all of the new accessories shown in the photo above (Planny Pack color will be sent at random).

You can enter by following the directions in the Rafflecopter widget posted below (check out this blog post for more information on entering Rafflecopter giveaways).  I’ll announce the winners on THIS blog post and contact them directly through email, as always.
Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sometimes Rafflecopter experiences technical difficulties. If you can’t enter for some reason, try again later and it will probably work.

I’m super excited about this year’s offerings!  I’m curious to know what you think.  Does anything catch your eye?  I’d love to know what’s on your Erin Condren wish list if you care to share!
Happy Planner Shopping, friends!

* Post contains referral and affiliate links.  All of the items shown were sent to me for consideration.  This is not a sponsored post.  All opinions are genuinely my own. *

54 comments

54 thoughts on “Planner Preview | Erin Condren 2017-2018 Life Planners”

  1. Love your detailed reviews! Recently started following you and I quickly realized you have so many good ideas!! Can’t wait for my hardbound planner to arrive!!

  2. I always love your planner reviews before launch. I have used your reviews for the past few years to determine which Life Planner I order! Thanks for all the time and effort you put into your content!

  3. I absolutely love the amount of detail you put into your videos! I cannot wait to order a EC Life Planner for college! What layout would you recommend for a student? Having a hard time deciding!

    1. I know they make an academic planner so that might be a place to start (I think they iodate those closer to the start of the school year).

  4. I love your planner reviews! They are so detailed which makes choosing my new planner every year sooo much easier 🙂

  5. I’m really excited to try the horizontal this year. I like the clean look of the neutral. Thank you for doing such an in-depth review. It really helped me decide what I wanted to order. I have a fear of planner commitment haha.

  6. Oh, I can not WAIT to get my new planner! I was thinking of trying the hourly this time, I seem to be more of an hourly/task list planner and the structured boxes might work a bit better for me. Thanks so much for your reviews Jen, they truly do show all these beautiful planners have to offer!

  7. I own a similar planner, but not Erin Condren, and I love the idea of it so much but I found it so difficult to get into and stay dedicated to. After finding you on social media and YouTube and watching for a few months now, and seeing this video and blog post, I’m ready and determined to try again! Thank you!

  8. I love this review! I read it and watched your video! Such great detail you give, I love all the planners. thanks!!!

  9. Amazing review! You’re always so thourough. Thank you for being so generous and doing this giveaway! I accidentally subscribed to your YouTube under a different email than the one I used to enter the giveaway… any way to fix that?

  10. Thank you for this detailed review! I’ve been watching out for your Erin Condren 2018 Lifeplanner review since after Go Wild ’cause you’re the only one who reviews all the available planner options. Thanks, Jen!!

  11. Thank you so much for the in depth video. It actually helped me decide which color I wanted for the hardbound planner since I wanted them all. I know it’s not part of this post, but I just wanted to say I love your sticker collection from the other video on your YouTube channel! ☺️

  12. Love the very thorough review!! I am *really* digging the neutral vertical option, in addition to the Planny Pack – gotta love that name, lol!

  13. I am excited as well for this year’s batch of offerings. I will say though, I wish they wouldn’t have changed the neutral’s boxes.

    I do something similar to what you do for CC. I use a horizontal for my own variation of project life. Thanks to you, back when you first share CC’S baby book of sorts, I was able to make it work for my 4 littles.

    I use a second planner for my faith keeping and a third planner for planning.

    Thanks for the great look at what’s to choose from.

  14. Oh my gosh, you write the best reviews! Thank you so much for sharing these images and taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I’m so pumped for the large hardbound planner and the planny pack 😍

  15. I absolutely enjoy watching your channel on youtube and seeing your blog posts as you have many great ideas and tips. I had actually bought my first Erin Condren planner because of your detailed videos!

  16. Im in love with the planny pack and can’t think for the life in me why I never came up with the idea of the pen case with the planner band. Such a simple and convenient way of keeping everything together, I LOVE ❤️ it. I’m about to delve into my goodie box of fabrics and gather together all that’s required to make a few of them, small medium and large depending on the size of my journal, list to do brocket book, yes I have one loll, and my “recipes I need to make note pad”, I think each are deserving of a case. Your smile is like a sunshiny day since CC came along 💕 Thank you for sharing Jen, take care of your beautiful family hugs Margaret (NunaFeedTheDucks)

  17. I love the Planny Pack, mostly just for the name hehe! Loving the new prints and quotes in the colour edition too. The hardbacks look great and would be ideal desk planners for work but for home, I think the ring bound are much better for memory keeping!

    Sarah 🙂

    Saloca in Wonderland

  18. I always love seeing your review of the new EC planners. It is early this year!
    I started getting mine as a gift from my parents for Christmas, but then I wanted to start planning things so I opted to order my own usually in early November so I’m all ready to use it come January!

  19. I have been a planner person for two years now and I couldn’t imagine life without it. I look forward to Jen’s review every year (blog and youtube). I have always been one for the coiled planner and I have switched from the vertical to Horizontal layout, and I have to say the Horizontal works best for my writing style.

    I am intrigued by the new hardbound planners, and am contemplating ordering one as my new planner seeing as how I am graduating and will no longer need as much planning space. Although I love having the ability to fold the coiled planner to have a flat surface to write. This being said I am in a major dilemma as to if I should change or stay with what I know.

  20. I had never heard of EC before watching your channel, but now, of course I had to order one. Anything in the name of organization. Thanks Jen for the great vlogs and blogs.

  21. You and Jenplans inspired me to get an ECLP this exact time last year after never having success with planners ! The planner has made a world of difference in my life as a phd student, wife to be and grad teaching assistant. Thanks for the posts and videos !

    P.S. Charolette got so big! What a blessing.

  22. I always look forward to your EC planner reviews. They are taking the headers away? Am I seeing that right? Are the boxes the same size as last years?

  23. I absolutely love watching your videos and reading your blogs! You have gotten me interested in planning! 😄
    What do you do with all the planners that you get to slow off & review?

  24. Thank you for this detailed review. I took a year off from using EC due to poor quality in my last one. It sounds like they have addressed the issues – I think it will be my planner of choice again for 2018!

  25. Thanks so much for your detailed review. I love the video too but always like to read the blog post and see everything up close. Living the new stickers in the planner and the new markers. The hardbounds look really nice too but I think I’m a lover of the coil more! Hope your back eased before filming for us. Thanks for another great giveaway too xx

  26. Thank you so much for your time and effort in making these videos. They really are very helpful. I watched the journaling video and loved it. Just curious, do you use the monthly spread in your journals? If so, how?

    1. I don’t actually use them. I can think of cute ways to highlight special events and milestones with fun stickers & such but I don’t make the time for it currently

  27. Use your referral code for my first ever Erin Condren after watching your review. I was hooked and just ordered my third EC planner on May 1st. Thank for all the honest reviews! Keep up the great work.

  28. I’ve watched your video about 3 times because your excitement is so contagious. This will be my first ECLP and I’m super stoked. Thanks for such a detailed review, it really helped me make a few decisions!!

  29. I was about to order when I remembered the giveaway. Glad I wasn’t too late to register. xoxo

  30. As always, love the EC review blog/video! Can you address why one would want to purchase the 18 month version vs the 12 month version? If I purchase the new planner every July, I feel like I’m waisting the last 6 months in every planner. What am I missing? LOL

  31. I’ve been reading your Erin Condren reviews since almost the first year that you’ve been posting them. You got me hooked! Thank you for making time to do your awesome annual coverage of the new ECLP with all the crazy fun of being a parent. I enjoyed your vlogging last year of Go Wild too. Thanks again for all that you do and best wishes.

  32. I almost fell out of my chair when I got an email from Jen!!!! So excited… I have been on the EC website trying to figure out what I am going to get!!

  33. Been so busy I forgot about the planer give away so happy for the winners congratulations guys 🎉💕🎉

  34. Can you please measure how thick the horizontal hardbound planner is? I’m thinking of putting it in my chic sparrow wide and would love to see if I can fit it in there instead of the A5.

  35. I can’t seem to find a place that tells how many note pages are in the back of the hardbound LifePlanner. Can you give us that information? Thanks for the awesome review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slide Up